Members and responsibilities of the Government of Flanders 2009-2014

Minister-President Kris Peeters presented the members of his government team on 11 July 2009. The Government of Flanders consists of nine ministers, who have been in office since 2009 for a 5-year term, which is due to end in 2014.

Kris Peeters (CD&V)
Minister-President of the Government of Flanders,
Flemish Minister for Economy, Foreign Policy, Agriculture and Rural Policy, responsible for:

  • general government policy
  • agriculture and fisheries
  • foreign policy
  • rural policy and economy (with the exception of public economic instruments).

Ingrid Lieten (sp.a)
Vice-Minister-President of the Government of Flanders,
Flemish Minister for Innovation, Public Investment, Media and Poverty Reduction, responsible for:

  • fundamental, strategic and policy-oriented research
  • technological innovation
  • media
  • coordination of the policy on poverty
  • public economic instruments

Geert Bourgeois (N-VA)
Vice-Minister-President of the Government of Flanders,
Flemish Minister for Public Governance, Local and Provincial Government, Civic Integration, Tourism and the Vlaamse Rand, responsible for:

  • public governance (with the exception of urban policy)
  • tourism policy field
  • management and protection of immovable heritage 
  • policy on the Flemish periphery around Brussels

Jo Vandeurzen (CD&V)
Flemish Minister for Welfare, Public Health and Family, responsible for:

  • welfare, public health and family.

Hilde Crevits (CD&V)
Flemish Minister for Mobility and Public Works, responsible for:

  • the mobility and public works policy area.

Freya Van den Bossche (sp.a)
Flemish Minister for Energy, Housing, Cities and Social Economy, responsible for:

  • housing policy
  • social economy
  • energy
  • urban policy.

Joke Schauvliege (CD&V)
Flemish Minister for Environment, Nature and Culture, responsible for:

  • the environment, water management, land-use planning and nutrient management
  • nature and natural resources
  • cultural heritage
  • professional arts
  • socio-cultural adult work

Pascal Smet (sp.a)
Flemish Minister for Education, Youth, Equal Opportunities and Brussels Affairs, responsible for:

  • education and training
  • youth work (inclusive of the coordination of children’s rights policy)
  • the equal opportunities policy
  • the coordination of the policy on Brussels-Capital.

Philippe Muyters (N-VA)
Flemish Minister for Finance, Budget, Work, Spatial Planning and Sport, responsible for:

  • finance and budget
  • spatial planning
  • employment (inclusive of the language use in social relations)
  • vocational training
  • sport.